This protein can be found in grains such as wheat, rye and barley and it’s responsible for giving consistency to some of our favorite foods: pizza, bread and sauces.
A few years ago the word gluten was something nobody heard before, nowadays many people who either have celiac disease, are gluten intolerant or allergic to this protein are cutting it from their diets.
No wonder why you can find several “Gluten Free” products in the supermarket aisles and even though a gluten free diet could be difficult, it’s not impossible. That’s why here at the Great Harvest Bread Co. in Mentor we’ve created a quick list of things that you have to keep in mind for your gluten free diet.
What to Avoid
As we said before you have to stay away from wheat, rye and barley in any of their derivatives.
This doesn’t mean all grains are harmful there are many options that you can eat such as: Rice, corn, beans, soy, millet, tapioca and many others! There is also a wide variety of healthy foods you are allowed to consume like fruits and vegetables, fresh meats, eggs and most dairy products.
A tricky part of avoiding gluten is that wheat products can have several names and that way it can be unseen! You will have to learn those names!
AlcoholIf you enjoy a drink every now and then, there are good news. Wine and strong liqueur are gluten free! if you are a beer enthusiast then you will have to be careful most beers, ales and lagers are not gluten free, although there are some options made especially for those who can’t consume gluten.
Cross contamination is also a common problem, but here at the Great Harvest in Mentor you don’t have to worry about it! We make sure to clean all machinery and utensils to guarantee our bread is produced without gluten! Please check our menu for the delicious gluten free options that you can find in our shop.
Remember that The Great Harvest Bread Co. has the best bread in Mentor for any inquiries you can reach us at (440) 205-8199